Notices

Your profession and alcohol

Old 03-14-2011, 10:54 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Your profession and alcohol

Hi gang - long time observer.... first time poster. Just began anew with my sobriety after deluding myself for quite a while I had it under control. Up to day 5 drink free and apart from rubbish sleeps the first few nights it's been okay. I've been exercising, eating well and feeling better every day. I'm keen to check out AA and go through the steps because after reading so much about alcoholism and alcoholics recently I know I fall into that category and need help!

ANYWAY.

I've got a situation that I'm in that I'm curious as to people's thoughts. I'm a professional musician from Australia and as you imagine alcohol is very much glorified in that industry (and in general in Australia). It's typical for gigs I do around the city for us to have our band room stocked with beer and wine. The band I play with regularly are very professional about it (we don't drink much on gigs as we're normally driving.... ) but that doesn't stop me from often grabbing a bottle of wine to have when I get home...

On tour it's often a different story. A different group I play for will often go on longer tours where responsibility isn't as much of a factor. We're staying in hotels, getting cabs or have transport organised and it's very easy after we play to hit it hard. We've done a few tours where alcohol has been a massive part of it and seems to be fundamental to the general bonding with the different players the singer uses. I've got a festival interstate in a couple of weeks with her and then a US tour for a couple of weeks after that which will include some industry events where there's normally free alcohol or people being generous to the singer and taking us out for dinner and drinks etc.

I'm obviously cautious of relapse and need to get as sorted as I can before these gigs.