Notices

Please do need some feedback

Old 03-14-2011, 09:21 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Please do need some feedback

I have been sober for 7 1/2 weeks. I have been doing well. I have reached out, and gotten through some very tough situations (well at least for me) these last weeks.

This weekend I went to a reunion of women that I graduated HS with. I was worried, thought I wouldn't measure up to them, yet went and had a really good time. Even connected to my very best friend who I haven't seen in
15 years. The rest I hadn't been in contact with for over thirty years.
I want to stress everything went really well. There was a group decision
that no alcohol would be on site for the reunion because of the increased cost due to liability issues. So no temptation there.

Yet when I got back home I felt lost and restless. Really out of sorts for no explainable reason. I decided it might be wise to go to an AA meeting. I did tonight.

The meeting was fine. I admit I'm a relapser of epic porportions. I'm nice, respond to those that speak to me, yet have not made an effort this go around to go way out of my way towards the regulars. I felt even worse
since I left that meeting.

I'm actually afraid for myself. Look, you AA people. I do not blame anyone there. There were thirty to forty people there tonight. I guess I could have shared, but I didn't. I did stick around after the meeting for awhile, yet people were too busy. I was so uncomfortable that I went outside. A few people were out there, but caught up in talking about the sharing within the meeting. Those people were not too nice in how they thought the sharers did. I realize I shouldn't judge and removed myself again.

I know that I am in a bad place. I just don't think I can do another meeting like that. I don't have transportation right now to get to meetings. I go where and when I can.