Notices

First post ...

Old 03-13-2011, 06:34 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

First post ...

Hi Folks

I'm a newbie here and this is my first post, so please be kind.

In a nutshell my love/hate relationship with alcohol started in my early 20's (I'm now 49). I drank initially because I loved the way it made me feel, a whole different person, confident, chatty even assertive. Of course I could not control my drinking and I spent most of the 1980's hopelessly drunk or very ill. I had a bad accident (alcohol related) in 1988 and actually gave up drinking for a few years. Started 'controlled' drinking again in 1997, only having mid-strength (3.5) beers on the weekends.

In the past twelve months I have vowed to stop drinking and have gone sober for five or six months at a time, but something drives me to drink, like it did on Saturday, and now I'm back to square one, feeling dreadfully guilty and ashamed.

I have proved that I can abstain completely, but it's so disappointing when I fall off the wagon, be interested to hear how other posters deal with these sorts of relapses.

Thanks for making this forum available and best wishes to all.

Cristian
Old 03-13-2011, 06:47 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome Mundaring! Try ..try...again! Lots of people have had a couple of times they had to reset their dates. Find out what didn't work for you and try something different. For me..I made it from August to October and let myself think I could have a couple of drinks at a birthday party I attended. WRONG. That turned into such a horrible drunkfest and I had been sober for six weeks..I hated being drunk again. I reset my date and accepted the fact that I will never be able to be any kind of controlled drinker. Not sure why we let ourselves think that. I have been drinking for 30 yrs..so as long as you learn and do something ..anything different you will be on your way. Accept that you can no longer drink. Glad you are here..
Old 03-13-2011, 06:55 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
SR Fan