Notices

newbie here and scared

Old 03-09-2011, 03:15 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

newbie here and scared

So this is my first time here, I am just a bit confused. I know i have a problem but alcohol doesn't consume my life but it has effected my marriage. I drink 3 to 4 times a week 6 to 8 beers at a time. I do have issues every now and then blacking out and I have urinated in the house a few times in the last year. I am going to go down the sober route once again. I don't really know how this is going to be for me. I am now 50 days quitting dipping as well. I never really thought about quitting drinking completely, I always just thought I would cut back. From what I have just said is there any advice anyone could give me about my next step? I appreciate any advice anyone could give me. And I am scared to think that I could have had my last beer on this past Sunday.
Old 03-09-2011, 05:48 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm new here myself, but other folks will be around shortly to give you more experienced advice. That being said... I check in on this forum several times per day. I also work my program of choice, both on-line and through face to face meetings. Find a recovery program that works for you.

It is a rare person who can go from alcohol abuse to moderation. Most drunks like to think that they can, which is where a lot of relapses happen.

It terrified me to think of never drinking again. I set my first goal at not drinking for 30 days. I did not give myself permission to drink again when the 30 days was over, just that for the next 30 days, I will not drink. Funny thing happened this past month. My life is so much better! This coming Thursday will mark 30 days for me. I won't be drinking again. Every day will not be easy, but everyday is a choice. The thought of never drinking again isn't scary at all anymore. I found that making the choice not to drink ever again was easier for me when I became sober. It was the alcohol induced thinking that made it seem scary.