Notices

a bit confused

Old 03-07-2011, 02:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

a bit confused

Hi Everyone. First thanks to all over the last couple of months I am on around 70 days free from drinking and life is going great. I have done this by seeing a doctor having one family members support and visiting SR. I did a detox over Xmas at my family members place with the Drs constant contact. All good it appears, I have no interest in drinking now - just needed to get out of a really bad habit. I am very proud that I have. I don't want to lighten this it was very very tough and I had been drinking at least one bottle of wine for many years a day and it was increasing daily.

Now what confused me. I am a very generous person and while being drunk I was a very accommodating person when people would call and ask for money. Yes this one family member in the last year I have probably given of $10,000 to help out. As I have come through recovery I have realised I need to start putting my hard worked for money into a future for myself so have said no to anymore.

The part that has confused and made me a little sad is this family member last night talked to me a about a bottle of wine and went into detail how they were given this and went to describe how it was the nicest wine and went down so good, that they just love it and on and on. I was silent, trying to process why on earth this person would even go their with me as they know what I have been through!! Am I overeacting or this something anyone else has experienced. Any feedback would be appreciated as I don't want to become resentful and i want to see this perhaps for what it is. Thank you in advance.
Old 03-07-2011, 02:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

YEAH on over 2 months sober! That's huge.