Notices

they said i should introduce myself

Old 03-06-2011, 10:12 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy they said i should introduce myself

Hi people.
I just discovered this site today & thought I'd register. Maybe this site & its forums will help me. I'm not doing too well...
I've been drinking like mad for almost 7 years, after my life pretty much fell apart when I was hit by a car 10 years ago. At first it was a tool to help me get back to having a social life. It VERY quickly got out of control.
I've been through in-patient detox programs 3 times over the last 2 years, the most recent at the end of Nov last year. I've tried AA but found it anything but helpful.
I'm now in a loving relationship, I'm engaged to be married & have 3 beautiful soon-to-be step sons all under 10 years old who I love dearly.
But I've started slipping again. I don't know why. I'm craving a drink something fierce. I'm trying to be strong, but I feel like tearing out my hair. I'm really good at beating myself up for my failings & I consider this a massive one. I'm meant to be tougher than this.
I could really use someone to talk to who might understand & somehow be able to help.
Old 03-06-2011, 10:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hello and welcome DynamiteGrrl...I know exactly how you feel...including your feelings about AA... I feel like tearing my own hair out tonight myself....
Old 03-06-2011, 10:29 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
SR Fan

Welcome Dynamite - sorry to hear you're struggling but so glad you're reaching out for support..... this place has helped me stay sober for 10 months now.

Sometimes it doesn't take a reason to start drinking again. We only have to "forget" the pain it causes us and take recovery for granted..... It sounds like you have the tools to stay sober (since you've been to rehab), but you're not active in any kind of program. Am I reading that right?

Perhaps an addiction counselor or psychiatrist might be helpful, too.

We're here for you!:ghug3
Old 03-06-2011, 10:31 PM