Notices

Alcoholic "status" questioned by an old-timer

Old 03-02-2011, 01:38 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Riding Barefoot

Alcoholic "status" questioned by an old-timer

I went to a meeting this morning. I had never been to this particular one before, but I'd been invited numerous times by other members to come check it out. Overall, it was a really good meeting, but something happened right before the meeting started that really shook me up when I thought about it later. I sat down next to an old man. He seemed very friendly. He was asking me about myself. Am I originally from the area, what meetings do I usually go to, where did I attend school, what do I do for a living, etc. When I told him that I have a Master's degree and a job that I've been at for 5 years, he said, "Are you sure you're an alcoholic? You don't sound like one." I assured him that I had no doubt in my mind that I was indeed an alcoholic. The meeting then got started.
Thinking about this conversation later got me sort of angry. What if that had been someone attending their very first meeting and not me sitting next to the old man? Someone who is questioning whether they are an alcoholic? Hearing an old-timer with 31 years of sobriety question them may be enough convince them for the time being that they don't need to be there. Or anyone at a weak moment, sick of this disease and wanting to drink normally, might take that as a green light to go back out. Luckily, at least this time, it was me. Stubborn, alcoholic ME. I know what I am. There was a time when I probably wouldn't have let anyone tell me that I had a problem. Now I won't let anyone try to tell me that I DON'T have a problem. I can't afford it.