Notices

Veterans rehab program

Old 01-26-2011, 10:33 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Veterans rehab program info?

Hello, my name is Dan.

I'm looking for information about the Veterans Administration addiction treatment program, and I can't find any info about the program online. I am a veteran and eligible to go to rehab, but i do not know what that treatment will entail. I'm hoping to hear from somebody who has actually been through the program.

It's been almost 15 years since I got out of the navy, and I've sought treatment through other avenues, with very disappointing results. Both times I was placed in a "recovery house" but never a rehab center. Most of the people I met in those recovery houses were not the kind of people I want to associate with. I sought help and was thrown into a community full of ex-cons, violent criminals, and sex offenders. I have vowed not to put myself in a situation like that again. I decided that there was no help for me, and I'd be better off managing my habit. That was 3 years ago.

However, my habit is becoming unmanageable. I'm up to a 12 pack of beer a day and I use synthetic cannabinoids daily. My habit is taking up most all of my time leading to reduced productivity.I'm also worried about my health. If the VA program works, then I'd like to give it a try.

My questions:

How long is the program and is there a waiting list to get in?

Can I use the internet while in rehab?

- I work online and need to check email everyday. I also need several online hours for work on Saturday and Sunday.

Will I loose my driver's license?

- A doctor once told me he could diagnose me as an addict, but then I would lose my driver's license. Losing the drivers license is not an option.

Are there any other scarlet letters that might follow me after rehab?

I appreciate any information you might be able to share.

BTW, the treatment center I'm considering is in Chillicothe Ohio.

Thanks.

-Dan
Old 01-26-2011, 11:07 AM
  # 2 (permalink)