Notices

Al Anon or AA?

Old 01-22-2011, 01:21 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Al Anon or AA?

I'm new to this whole recovery thing and I am not sure where I fit in. I could be an alcoholic myself, but most of my drinking is pretty easily controlled when I'm not with my husband. I'm lucky in some ways and lost in others.

I enable him to drink and it has created some big problems in our life. Both my young adult sons have had DUI's, abuse alcohol, or have abused alcohol. My teenage daughter has been ridiculed and singled out by teachers and parents for our sons horrible antics. She is to the point she says she doesn't care anymore, and I caught her sampling my beer in a shot glass with a friend one night. At that point I quit keeping beer in the refrigerator and now only buy unrefriderated six packs when I do want a beer at home. I don't drink when we go out unless I am not driving which is once or twice a year. My husband and I still drink at home on evenings when know we don't have to drive. Which is more often for him since I do all the weekend driving so he will "cook" dinner while finishing 4 or 5 bourbons a night. We like to decompress together over drinks about the financial stress and job stress we both face.

My job is stop and go and is extremely project oriented. When a project is over or in the stop and hold your breath faze I want a beer at night to calm my nerves. Sometimes one turns into 4 or even 6 when I get to the end of the project and have all day to relax. Then I get alarmed and reign it in until the next round of stress sneaks up on me. His job also has him entertaining clients and drinking at events almost every evening he is out of town. He has learned to choose his venues close to his hotel so he doesn't have to drive. He has had a DUI too that almost ended his career.