Notices

I'm ready to quit!!

Old 12-22-2010, 06:10 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm ready to quit!!

First off, thank all of you in advance for all of your support.

Here is a little background on me. I have been drinking for about 22 years now. And come from a family full of ALCOHOLICS... I drink every day (6-8 beers) no matter what!! The FLU, The birth of my daughter,The death of my grandmother... You get the picture. This last weekend we had friends over and I drank 23 beers on Saturday and 19 beers on Sunday!! I have been a lurker on here for a long time, But now it is time to quit!!!
I have a 5 year old daughter that means more to me than i can even explain. And I never want her to see me in a drunkin stupor! I have never tried to quit in 22 years, But now I truly have the resolve to make it happen. FOR KATELYN AND ME!!!:
Old 12-22-2010, 06:12 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome to SR! You'll find a lot of support here.
Old 12-22-2010, 06:14 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank you least.
Old 12-22-2010, 06:36 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome!

You have made a good decision!

Early recovery requires a lot of changes but it's so worth the effort.
Old 12-22-2010, 07:06 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Groovy Dancer

Welcome! You can do this, it is up to you. Good luck and keep us posted. Read around SR, and Post where you want.
Old 12-22-2010, 07:12 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
6/20/08

Welcome to SR!
Old 12-22-2010, 07:31 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi 4Katelynandme
Welcome aboard!

D
Old 12-23-2010, 04:29 AM
  # 8 (permalink)  

Yah I have a 5yr old too. If you show them that its normal to get drunk every night. They will think its normal to get drunk every night. I'm trying to be the hero my daughters think I am. There will be hard days and easier days so just stick with it because you wont ever get a 2nd chance to raise your daughter well. At 5yr old you really have a chance to start over and she will never know you as a drunk if you succeed.