Notices

New To The SR Forum

Old 12-11-2010, 08:18 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Cultivating Sobriety

New To The SR Forum

Hi, I am new here, on my 2'nd sober day, and I thought I would jump in and introduce myself.

I have been browsing the board for awhile, a very nice place.I decided to join a couple days ago. I have 1 other forum I have been a member of since 2006.

My addiction is alcohol, and I am what they call a weekend binger. 2 to 3 days at a time, then regret and take a few days off. I have been doing this now for about 15 years. I have had a few quits, the most was a tad over a month. I get really depressed sometimes when I feel like I cannot beat this thing. I have been to a few AA meetings, but I tend to prefer the Alan Carr, Rational Recovery, etc. style of approach.

I have learned a lot from reading and browsing forums like this over the years. I know the one thing I have learned is to never give up.

I am still foggy headed and wanted to post a few days later; you know when that happy, calm feeling comes on. It always seems to happen around day 5, and it's the best feeling, then I ruin it by drinking again.

I am not sure how it fully works here yet, but at the other forum they have colors of level, like if you go 30 days, then 6 months, etc. Kind of like AA chips.

I look forward to working on myself here, and to try and help others, especially by being sober. The people that I read about that have 30 days, 60 days, etc. and how they feel, what changes has happened, etc. that’s the best part of my reading.

-Alien
Old 12-11-2010, 08:22 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
We Do Recover

Welcome to SR! Glad you are here. This is a great place for support. Lots of nice people here. Can't wait to hear more from you. Keep posting. We do recover.
Old 12-11-2010, 08:38 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover