Notices

afraid to ask for help

Old 12-02-2010, 07:05 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

afraid to ask for help

it has taken a long time for me to admit to myself that i am an alcoholic. any hopes of ever being a "social drinker" have gone out the window. i'm so afraid to ask for help - how can i open up about the secrets i've been keeping for so many years? i drink alone, i hide bottles in my closet, i lie to my boyfriend about drinking, i continue to drink when we get home from parties, i've missed commitments because of my drinking, i've gone to work buzzed. my relationship is hanging by a thread and i have got to get help because my boyfriend means the world to me.

i've always had problems with alcohol but it really started to spiral out of control when my boyfriend and i moved to business school this summer. he is a student and i have a job on campus. the stress of the move really took a toll and i started to self-medicate. business school is not an easy place for me to be - all of the social events are centered around drinking. i started seeing a great therapist about a month ago and we meet once a week.

i want to get better. alcohol is ruining my life and it's giving me a tremendous amount of anxiety. i am so ashamed and embarrassed and i just feel lost.
Old 12-02-2010, 07:18 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

If alcohol is ruining your life then coming here is a great start, for both information and support. No need to feel ashamed and embarrassed, not with us. But don't be ashamed with your boyfriend or anyone else who may, or may not, be aware of your drinking. You are seeking help. Shame is too easy to drown in booze and it's recovery you are seeking.

Welcome to SR.
Old 12-02-2010, 07:19 AM
  # 3 (permalink)