Notices

I need URGENT information!

Old 11-30-2010, 02:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I need URGENT information!

I feel I might be developing Wernicke-Korsakoff (wet brain).

I am in a country right now where I cannot get medical attention.

I have been drinking a whole bottle of rum every night now for a few months.

I take a vitamin B1 pill every day, and have done so for 2 years. I thought the B1 prevented Wernicke-Korsakoff. But now I see my memory is getting really bad. Or maybe I am just getting old? How can I tell?

I bought injectable B1 yesterday and have given myself a shot today and yesterday. I am not vomiting, and I do eat healthy foods every day. But I feel very confused right now.

Last edited by Dee74; 12-01-2010 at 12:44 PM. Reason: by request
Old 11-30-2010, 02:45 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
New to Real Life

You're not going to be able to get medical advice here I'm afraid.

What do you mean you can't get medical attention. Are you uninsured? There are ways around that, I think.

Can you reach out to your local AA chapter?
Old 11-30-2010, 02:50 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by dazed123 View Post

I don't understand what you mean by being in a country where there's no medical attention?

Sounds like medical attention is exactly what you need.

I'm so sorry you're going through this. ****{hugs}}}
Old 11-30-2010, 02:50 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
RIP Sweet Suki

Yeah, we can't give medical advice here. A visit with a doctor (I'm sure there is one around who will see you) would provide the information you're looking for.
Old 11-30-2010, 02:51 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Also, are you sure it's safe to be injecting anything?
Old 11-30-2010, 02:52 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by dazed123 View Post
I have been drinking a whole bottle of rum every night now for a few months.