Notices

1st post and test coming up this weekend

Old 11-26-2010, 08:24 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

1st post and test coming up this weekend

Hello all,

I found this site about a month ago and have been reading your posts daily, and identifying with most if not all of what has been said - the struggles, shame, guilt, frustration, anxiety, depression, as well as the accomplishments, joys and feelings of peace.

I had been drinking alone at home just about every night for the past 5 years or so. There had been some short "dry-out" periods, anywhere from 2 days to about 10 days. However usually I would go to work and then get home, exhausted, not wanting to deal with cleaning, fixing dinner, errands (except the run to the liquor store of course!), calling friends or family, chores. I would sit in front of the TV to "wind down", having 6-10 drinks and smoke cigarettes. I'd "fall asleep" easily, but only after going online and emailing or posting something on a social networking site that made no sense the next day, or sounded over-the-top exuberant or depressing.

Always the next morning, I'd oversleep the alarm, get up feeling like hell, discarding the empties & butts, and of course rushing to get to work, putting on clothes that should have been cleaned or ironed, not being prepared for the day.

My thinking was: I do this to relax after a stressful day. I need the alcohol to help me fall asleep, or I will have insomnia. I need to drink for just a brief break from the constant anxiety. I was constantly irritable and anxious, and the alcohol provided relief. I knew it was very bad for me to do this, but I did it anyways. I live alone and figured, nobody needs to know that I do this.