Notices

lost in all of this

Old 11-19-2010, 08:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

lost in all of this

i have been fighting a losing battle with addiction for 24 years now and i cant understand why i cant get past these things and move on with my life. i always end up using something and hurting those who love me the most. it kills me to see the hurt in their face.
Old 11-19-2010, 08:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

why is it that i can go 1-1 1/2 years clean but then end up strung out running from those i love???????????
Old 11-20-2010, 04:08 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Do you have any support system in place? I found that seeing my addiction counselor once a week has helped me stay sober and manage my life. I'd also suggest seeing your doctor to help you quit using your drug of choice.

Old 11-20-2010, 05:49 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

For What is Worth

I hear your pain, and my hope is that you will find some peace. I am on Day 15 and the only thing that keeps me clean is the support I have found at SR. I know I need more support so I am going to an AA meeting soon. I also plan on reading the Big Book everyone is talking about - whatever it is, all I know is that it is a big book . My prayers are with you.
Old 11-20-2010, 07:00 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
6/20/08

Hope you can get some help, and find some relief.

Welcome to SR.
Old 11-20-2010, 01:43 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome ready2

I don't know what your poison is, but it was really important to me to realise I'm an alcoholic and that that doesn't go away just because I'm not drinking.

I've built a fantastic new life for myself but it's contingent on me staying sober - so I do all I can to maintain that.

What did you do to maintain your sobriety in the year you were sober, ready2?

D

You'll find a lot of support here.
Old 11-20-2010, 02:10 PM
  # 7 (permalink)