Notices

Been gone a while

Old 11-13-2010, 10:13 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Been gone a while

I recently made it 67 days thanks to the kind folks on this site. Then I went to an open bar charity event and had wine. Oops. No longer counting dry days. Well, I haven’t been too concerned about it as I am not a terrible problem drinker (no hangovers, missing work, embarrassing moments, etc.). But I am nonetheless an obsessive person and know my drinking is beyond “normal”. (As defined by SSIL75's recent thread!)

So, my current problem is that I was diagnosed yesterday with breast cancer. I know I should go back to abstinence. I just don’t know how to get back there.
Old 11-13-2010, 10:19 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by dontwant2Bdad View Post
I recently made it 67 days thanks to the kind folks on this site. Then I went to an open bar charity event and had wine. Oops. No longer counting dry days. Well, I haven’t been too concerned about it as I am not a terrible problem drinker (no hangovers, missing work, embarrassing moments, etc.). But I am nonetheless an obsessive person and know my drinking is beyond “normal”. (As defined by SSIL75's recent thread!)

So, my current problem is that I was diagnosed yesterday with breast cancer. I know I should go back to abstinence. I just don’t know how to get back there.
First of all I'm hoping it was caught in time for a full recovery and wishing you the best. With the challenges of chemo, possibly surgery not to mention the emotional battles you'll be facing alcohol will have no place in your life. All I can say is it will make things far worse and you have to keep that in mind.
Old 11-13-2010, 10:31 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
SR Fan