Notices

Young, new to this, and unsure.

Old 11-06-2010, 03:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Young, new to this, and unsure.

Hi everyone,

I've been browsing this website for many months, have nearly registered at least five times, and finally got the courage to do it. I'm still in college, yet I'm considering getting sober. It amazes me how much I've already lost because of my drinking problem. I know that some people believe a college student can't possibly be an alcoholic. Most of my friends are social binge drinkers, but they haven't experienced a fraction of the consequences that I have (which I won't list just yet!).

This is day 7 for me. It's not nearly as difficult as past day sevens have been. I have no physical withdrawal symptoms this time around, I'm just really missing alcohol. Thanks for listening!
Old 11-06-2010, 03:19 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome WatchTheSky
Congratulations on your 7 days

D
Old 11-06-2010, 03:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Dismember

Hello and welcome! Glad you decided to join.

Anyone who says a college student can't be an alcoholic is wacky. One of my alcoholic friends was in high school when he started going to AA.

Considering sobriety is a great start, and don't worry about being unsure. Some people never think about giving up alcohol until they've nothing left and even then may not be sure.

Social binge drinkers can face losses and consequences for their drinking but decide to change and drink sensibly. An alcoholic cannot. There is no middle ground: one either quits completely or goes on to drink in a way where bad things are inevitable.

Missing alcohol is okay and normal too. Part of the process and doesn't mean you aren't necessarily doing the best thing. I know there are days when I really wish I could just have a glass of some excellent wine or a Belgian ale, but I have to play the cards I've been dealt. And what I've gotten from sobriety is better than any drink I've ever had.

Hope you'll stick around.