Notices

How do you know when you've worked the 12 Steps?

Old 10-24-2010, 11:20 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How do you know when you've worked the 12 Steps?

I'm confused about this. I have been attending AA meetings for about 3 months. I hear people who said they did it in a week. Some in a month. Other's are still on Step 4 after a year. Of course if varies, but how do you really know? Who tells you? Do you decide yourself? Does your sponsor tell you? Obviously there isn't a written test. I've seen some in my group willing to be a sponsor with only 1 month sobriety because "they have worked the steps".

Any advice on this?
Old 10-24-2010, 11:27 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Dismember

A week and a month?!! I know people who've gone quickly but that just sets off major AA alarm bells in my head. I cannot believe one month is possible. That someone would sponsor after one month of sobriety honestly scares me.

You know you've worked the steps when you and your sponsor decide you have. All the way, working the steps should be a collaborative effort between sponsor and sponsee.

I personally think at least 9 months to a year is required. I just finished my 12th about three months ago and I've been in the program three years. I took a long time, but I wanted to be deliberate and I'm happy with how it went.

And, naturally, you always work the steps. That's why I can't see flying through it. Once you're done you go back. I am currently working six and seven again.
Old 10-24-2010, 11:29 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

They are ordered 1 to 12 so when you reach step 12, and assuming you didnt choose to miss any out, you have worked the steps...obviously it is recommended to have a sponsor who had worked the steps and got their own spiritual awakening to be able to guide you through the process....