Notices

Me

Old 09-05-2010, 02:49 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Me

Hi
Im new here and this is day 1 without a drink. I have been drinking for the last 10 years but its now come to the point that its taking over my life. I have searched around for help but was always to afraid to ask for it or even admit i had a problem. I have read many posts here this morning and i realise how many sound like me. My first step was to admit to myself that i have a real problem which i have done in this post and now i need support to keep me away from booze. I would like to try AA but that would mean admitting it to my family and im to scared to do that right now. Any support would help xx
Old 09-05-2010, 03:15 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hey there. It's good to see another person from UK.

Admitting the problem, and truly accepting it, is crucial in standing a chance of staying sober.

I know for me then I had to truly accept myself as an alcoholic to stay sober. I have been sober nearly 14 months now. I have rebuilt my life back up 'one day at a time'. I had to accept that 1 drink is too many and 10,0000 never enough!

It's the first drink that does all of the damage if you're an alcoholic. Checking out an AA meeting is probably a good decision. You should learn some good stuff there from people who are gratefully sober. If nothing else then it gives a chance to be with people who share the same problem as yourself, which is always comforting.

I can only share my experience which is that my immediate family already knew about my heavy drinking and drugging and witnessed me in blackouts and off my face on Cocaine and pills many, many, many times. Still didn't stop me drinking and drugging though! I stopped when I was ready to stop and accepted that indeed I am an alcoholic and addict. Prison, mental institution or death were the only outcomes of my behaviour. I saw that very clearly as my binging was totally out of control.