Notices

Hypnosis

Old 08-12-2010, 01:57 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hypnosis

Morning,
I was just wondering as some people get hypnosis for stopping smoking or loosing weight whether or not anyone has tried it to sort out a drink or drug issue?
A new therapist has set up shop in my town and claims to offer CBT (cognitive behavioural therapy) based hypnosis.
As a nurse myself I know who good CBT can be for patients, as a suffer of bipolar for 10 yrs I know that CBT has its place in mental health. But to combine it with a hypnosis based practice?
Just wondered if you had this type of thing accross the pond in america as ive not heard of it before
xx
Old 08-12-2010, 02:44 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I tried it and I ended up taking the psychiatrist out for a drink

Just kidding. Never tried it, never heard of it being tried. I'd be interested in your results if you tried it though.
Old 08-12-2010, 02:55 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

lol dgillz xD for some reason that made me actually laugh out loud :P
i just wanted to ear others experience of it if anyone had at all :P logic just says to me if ppl use it to quit smoking why not use it to quit drinking?! x
Old 08-12-2010, 03:08 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

I have no experience myself, but I know some folks here have tried CBT.
Hopefully they'll chime in

D
Old 08-12-2010, 05:45 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
A work in progress

I've heard of CBT being helpful for quitting drinking, but I've never heard of CBT being combined with hypnosis.

I have zero experience with hypnosis, and I tend to think I'd be a poor subject, but it will be interesting to hear what anyone else has to say.
Old 08-12-2010, 05:58 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Id be interested in hearing I it had been tried. I think I remember reading once that people in active addiction were difficult to hypnotize but I can't remember why.

I have heard of accupuncture being used.
Old 08-12-2010, 06:16 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace