Notices

Please Help! Husband drinking four hours after rehab..

Old 07-22-2010, 09:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Please Help! Husband drinking four hours after rehab..

..I'm not sure how to respond to him. I'm furious but I really want to put this out there to get some clarity about all of this first before I say or do something I might regret.

I am new to Al Anon..so I haven't really figured out myself in all of this yet. I just need some help at this moment. How should I react? Just accept it calmly and go about our evening as if nothing is different? Tell him how disappointed I am? Scream at him?

Please don't just tell me to "keep going to al anon". I need help now! I just need some guidance in how I should respond to someone who is clearly very deep in his addiction.

Thanks in advance.

Not that it matters but he is a very gentle soul and there is no abuse or anything like that. He just keeps apologizing to me for what he is choosing to do.

I'm really confused.
Old 07-22-2010, 09:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm so sorry, this is so sad for you and him as well. I'm no expert, but I know that when I was drinking I was in no position to discuss my drinking and if someone had tried to talk to me while I was drinking it would have made me drink more. So my inexpert advice would be to wait until morning and try and have a discussion with him.

How long was he in Rehab? Was it his first time?
Old 07-22-2010, 09:22 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Ultravioletlt
Welcome.

I'm never been in your situation.

I'm not sure there is a right way to react - I certainly know that there's no special way to react to somehow make him stop.

As an alcoholic myself I know how single minded the condition can make us. I'm sorry.

La Femme's suggestion about talking to him tomorrow is as good as any I can think of.

Have you got anyone to talk to there?