Notices

Is it easier to quit after 2 years or 20?

Old 07-13-2010, 12:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Is it easier to quit after 2 years or 20?

Alright, this question may be a bit odd to some. But it seems like most sober people have quit after what is quite a long time, after the pain of so many years of drinking got to the point where quitting was a very strong desire. Their physical dependence was obviously much larger than a "new" drinker, but their emotional desire to stop was, with some help, enough to overpower this.

I've been averaging about 30-40 drinks / week for about 2 years now. I am 22 years old. For the first year and a half, I never felt that my habit was a problem. Never had any family, work, legal, or health issues with it. Not to mention it was almost always pretty fun, even if it was just 8 beers while playing an old video game home alone.

Now I'm starting to realize that I may be going down a bad road. I still have fun when I drink, I still don't have any major problems with it save for a few rough mornings, but from reading forums like this and hearing the stories of others, I know that the problems will certainly come if I continue on like this. The problem is--while I recognize this and have a strong desire to quit for most of the day--by the time it is nighttime, I start craving the fun of drinking and at the same time I remind myself that it really hasn't been causing any problems so far, so..."why not"?

That makes me wonder. Although physically I may not be too dependent on alcohol after only 2 years, it seems that the very fact that I haven't been drinking too long, and haven't had any problems from it, makes me less able to stop than I would be if it were causing me serious problems.