SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   11 Months Today - New Here (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/204899-11-months-today-new-here.html)

baseballlover 07-11-2010 03:18 PM

11 Months Today - New Here

Hi everyone!

I am new to SR and wanted to introduce myself. I have been sober for 11 months and can't believe I made it this far. 11 months ago I was arrested for my second dui with one of my children in the car. As I was laying in jail that night I thought how much lower will you let it go? My 12 year watched me be arrested and drove away while my other daughter waited for me to pick her up at soccer practice (never made it there).

My husband has done all the driving for 11 months. We have 3 kids in a ton of activities. I couldn't hurt him anymore than I already have. I thank God everyday for my sobriety. Life is so much better.

least 07-11-2010 04:24 PM

Welcome to SR! :hug: And big hugs and congrats on your 11 months!:)

artsoul 07-11-2010 04:41 PM

Welcome baseballlover - Congratulations on your 11 months!:c011: I don't know how I escaped getting a DUI, but I can only imagine how tough that would have been for you with your children being so young.

It sounds like you have a lot on your plate these days (have three kids myself and remember the days of bouncing back and forth between playing fields!). I hope you can take time for yourself, too. But how great that you're being such a good example for your kids now. That's awesome!:scoregood

I think you'll like it here. One thing that helps me stay sober is reading everyone's posts and checking in every day. Hope to see you around.

a fallen man 07-11-2010 04:44 PM