Notices

The Story of how it began.....

Old 07-08-2010, 08:45 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The Story of how it began.....

I have only been sober for 2 weeks but whilst trying to get to my day one I started to keep a computerised diary of how I was feeling - my way to vent. This also includes the story of how (and maybe why) I developed the realtionship I did with the bottle. This is not a story of recovery as I am still very much recovering. This is my story of how it began, and a strong message to all those that believe 'cutting down works' - It certainly didnt for me. This is quite long and I am sure you will not manage all of it, but here it is....

This diary is between the 29.04.2010 and 19.05.2010. My actual sobriety date is 25/06/2010.

11am
Today I have made a decision to quit drinking. I have been drinking heavily for nearly 6 years now and have spent most of my time either drunk or feeling incrediably ill. It is affecting every part of my life.
It is affecting my ability to be a proper mum as I would rather be sitting in the kitchen drinking and smoking then sitting with my little boy. It is seriously affecting my ability to concentrate at work and do
my job because I feel so ill all of the time, and normally scared because I feel ill. The only reason I look forward to going home is so I can drink. As I feel ill all the time having a drink is the only way I can
kind of feel normal again. At least, until it wears off then I'm back to feeling ill. The quality of my life is rock bottom because of the evils of alcohol. And i have no one to blame but myself. I often wonder
how I went from not enjoying drinking and much prefering a coke in a pub, to being all consumed with when I can next have alcohol.
Everything i do is a chore. From opening my eyes, to getting out of bed. Getting ready, sitting in the car on the way to the station. The walk to the train in the morning isnt even real. Its almost like floating