Notices

Newbie here. Overcoming the fear of AA?

Old 06-28-2010, 09:26 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie here. Overcoming the fear of AA?

First time poster here, but I have been reading these forums for awhile.

I keep trying to work myself up to finally get to an AA meeting but I haven't mustered up the courage to do so. What can I expect from the first meeting? I'm sure I will meet some wonderful people there, but I still have this irrational fear of the unknown of what I'm getting into. I'm on Day 2 of my sobriety, and need as much local support as possible. My wife has been very supportive, but I'm starting to think I need a couple more positive friends to surround myself with to hold myself accountable.
Old 06-28-2010, 09:42 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Aa

Hi there .... I am back on day 1 and also contemplating AA tomorrow night. I know exactly what you are feeling - how about I go and give you some feedback??
Old 06-28-2010, 09:53 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

also on day 2

I am also on day 2 and I look at is this way, I want to go because nothing is as scary as drinking myself to death which I have almost done. That's why I want to get help
Old 06-28-2010, 09:56 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

About the only thing I could do when I first started attending AA was hang my head down because I was so full of shame and guilt.

Thank God I went, and continued to go.
Old 06-28-2010, 10:25 AM
  # 5 (permalink)