Notices

No other choice. MUST quit!

Old 06-07-2010, 08:19 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Tired & Scared... but Trying

No other choice. MUST quit!

Hi folks:

Difficult to know where to start. I've been drinking heavily for almost 30 years and never thought I had a problem. I've never missed work because of drinking, although I have gone to work horribly hung-over; drinking has caused tension between me and my wife, but I always manage to wiggle my way out of it.

But in January of this year I had to have an operation. While poking around inside, the surgeon found cirrhosis of the liver. Since that time I had quit drinking completely for 2 months. I lost 20 pounds and found I had quite a bit more energy. Then I fell back into old ways. This past weekend, starting around Noon on Friday, I was on a bit of a binge.

I don't like it. I can actually FEEL the damage I'm doing to my liver! It actually hurts.

During the 2 months without drinking I MISSED it, but didn't NEED it; I had no physical craving, just a mental longing for it. I must stop now.

I cannot bring myself to go to an AA meeting, but have got a call in to a counselor.

At the moment I just need to be around (even just electronically) others with the same problems. I'll just have to try harder to just stop drinking.

Thanks.
Old 06-07-2010, 08:24 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome to SR! You have valid health reasons to stop drinking and have done it before so you know you CAN do it. Good call on seeing a counselor. I have a good one and she helps me in so many ways.

There are lots of methods to stop drinking, but the simplest one is to just not pick up that first drink.
Old 06-07-2010, 08:29 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
i've done my almost

Welcome to SR! You'll find a lot of support here and it's a great place to vent (I do it often).

Originally Posted by Radio33 View Post
I'll just have to try harder to just stop drinking.