Notices

Hello

Old 06-06-2010, 05:05 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello

I'm new here (obviously!) and just wanted to introduce myself.

I don't think I'm an alcoholic, but I do have a drinking problem. When I start, I just can't stop until I pass out literally. I have been drinking for 26 years and am 42 now. I only drink on the weekends but I am killing myself and I know it. I had 17 bottles of strong beer last night and feel really bad today as per normal.

A couple of years ago I was diagnosed with panic and anxiety disorder, due directly from the amount I drink (used to drink I should say). I'm on anti-depressants and valium to keep the anxiety in check, but like a total fool I keep drinking. Well, not any more. I'm going to stop and have been sober for 1 day. That's really good for me as it's a Sunday evening and I'd normally be totally pi**ed by now.

So, 1 day at a time I guess.

Thanks for listening to me grumble. If anyone else has anxiety from alcohol, I would really like to hear from you and know how you dealt with it and if you ever beat it.

Spikeman
Old 06-06-2010, 05:11 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Don't resist, allow

Hi Spikeman and welcome.

Anxiety is common with alcohol abuse. Alcohol is a drug which directly affects the brain central nervous system. A lot of people experience heightened anxiety when they withdraw (perhaps this is what you are experiencing on your off days during the week) but this should settle down in time and the body and brain heals itself.

It is certainly wise to be honest with your doctor about your drinking while taking the meds and if you are finding it difficult when giving up, it may help to speak to the doctor again.

There's plenty of face to face support in AA, as well as online here at SR. The only requirement for membership of AA is a desire to stop drinking. You don't have to consider yourself an "alcoholic" to go along and get some help.
Keep in touch and good luck.
Old 06-06-2010, 05:36 AM
  # 3 (permalink)