Notices

My high school year book

Old 06-01-2010, 12:10 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My high school year book

I was cleaning up and came across my high school year book. 1969! (Ya, I know, I'm a dinosaur). What struck me was the notes my classmates wrote to me and the number of references to alcohol.

"Have a great life, but stay sober"
"Party on!"
"It's Miller time"
"King of the Harvey Wallbangers!"

You get the idea. There were more. Wow. I was only 17 when I graduated. Not sure why I started drinking so early. I never thought of myself as a drinker back then, just doing what I thought the other kids were doing. But apparently my classmates thought otherwise. Even then moderation wasn't in my vocabulary.

Looking back through all those years of drinking it's hard not to be a little depressed. What might I have accomplished if I worked harder on my career? How many more friends would I have today if I was a better friend myself? Would I be closer to my family if I reached out to them once in a while?

Alcohol takes it's toll slowly, in baby steps that you don't even see. That can over time add up to a life of "what ifs". Damn.

The good news is June 1, 2010. 90 days sober. Thank you folks of SR, I couldn't have done it without you!
Old 06-01-2010, 12:14 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
i've done my almost

Congrats on 90 days sober!
Old 06-01-2010, 12:18 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Congrats on 90 days sober!

The year book thing.. "Get dry Dave" was written in mine..
Old 06-01-2010, 02:59 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Try to focus on the now, Emmy.

The past is always closed to us - we can't change it.
Right or wrong whatever we did has bought us to this day, and to who we are now....and we can do whatever good we like today

Congrats on your 90 days Emmy

D
Old 06-01-2010, 03:44 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Emmy69
Alcohol takes it's toll slowly, in baby steps that you don't even see. That can over time add up to a life of "what ifs". Damn.