Notices

Statement_of_a_true_alcoholic

Old 05-24-2010, 11:04 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Statement_of_a_true_alcoholic

I was advised that I should write this thread as it might help others as well as myself.
Those of you that know me, know that I've been a member of SR since September 09. I remained sober for 7 months and then relapsed. 'Big announcement'. Keeping low key since.
I've been fighting the fight of alcohol v sobriety for over three years now.
30 months of which I spent 'dry'.
Thinking back now, apart from the initial pink cloud, which was an amazing feeling, everything I did for my sobriety was half a...d.
4 days rehab (I mean pleeaase), the occasional meeting, few weeks of therapy, etc. etc.
The only thing I ever did whole heartily and where I gave it my all is drinking - 30 years of it.
Then I found SR and things were going well until my alcoholic mind, once again, convinced me that I couldn't deal with the stresses of life which we all have. Last week I reached a point where I was exhausted, physically and emotionally and I turned to another member of SR for help.
He (he knows who he is) has been wonderful and I can't thank him enough. When I first signed up, I actually put down the place where I live
(SSN on request ).
Now I am glad I did, because he lives not far from me and persuaded me to give AA another try. He recommended places and times and even agreed to
meet me at one.
I had nothing to lose, my way didn't work. We went to a meeting yesterday and before I even got a chance to meet him, I had a wonderful lady introduce herself to me, given me a free book on how to live sober, told me about her 26 years sober (wow) and when I asked about step 1 and that I, even when not drinking, felt that my life was still unmanagable, she said it's because I haven't changed. I'm still the same person that was drinking. I know it sounds silly, but a light came on. I thought my life had to change. Boy did I have that one wrong. It's me that needs changing.