Notices

So hurt and sad and confused

Old 05-22-2010, 10:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy So hurt and sad and confused

I am new to this, and this is my first post, so if I screw anything up I apologize. I have been in a relationship with an alcoholic for the past 6 years, and we recently split up. I have a 12 year old son whose biological father is not involved, and my ex was his father in every way.Our 6 year relationship was very tumultous, due to his disease, but very full of love too.Over the past year or so his disease has progressed rather rapidly. He tried to quit on his own, and was successful for a couple of months, but inevitably he started drinking again. After many broken promises, and far too much drama I finally had had enough, and I told him that he either had to move out or get help, and he moved out. It wasn't that simple of course, I had to eventually change the locks to get him to actually leave. He left but kept his key and just kept coming back. I changed the locks about 2 months ago, and he is still drinking. As a matter of fact his drinking has done nothing but gotten worse since he left. Before he moved out he admitted to having a problem, and said he wanted to get help. Now, he is drinking all day everyday, and just blames the demise of our relationship on me.

The thing is I really did believe that if I made it clear to him that we couldn't be together unless he got help, that he would get help. I know that he can not control his drinking, as I have seen him really try with all his heart, but I feel like he can control whether or not he gets help for the drinking. I am having a really hard time accepting the fact that he would rather be without his family and drink then to be with us and get help. He always said we were his everything and that he would do anything he had to do to make our relationship work. Now, however, it is clear that that is not the case.