Notices

Why do I do this?

Old 04-30-2010, 09:57 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
SR Fan

Why do I do this?

Hello SR - I'm on my seventh or eigth drink tonight, after almost 4 days sober, which is good for me. I got to those 4 days after reading posts on this website for the past 5 or 6 days. I know with my intellect that I must be an alcoholic, because I've gone into treatment (voluntarily) twice.... once in 1988 and again in 1999. Here I am again, in an uncanny 11-year cycle. I've done AA. I've done 90 meetings in 90 days with both recoveries. I stayed sober for several years both time. I GOT it. Yet, I'm here again, after
slowly building up to a bottle of wine a day for 4 or 5 days a week, or 6-12 beers if I decided the wine got me looped too quickly.

As an artist, I used it to loosen me up creatively. As someone who has OCD tendencies, I used it to calm my anxiety. I've been diagnosed with depression and alcohol seemed to help me forget my troubles. I used it to feel normal. I used it when I was happy, sad, bored (oh yeah) - or just for no reason at all. As a smoker, I've rationalized that since I will probably die of lung cancer, what difference does it make if I drink? I even rationalized it to the point that I thought if I drink tonight, I can join the May Group on SR rather than jump in the April Group last minute. Totally inane or what?!