Notices

Wet Brain

Old 04-08-2010, 09:32 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Wet Brain

I asked last week about a term I heard "Dry Drunk". Now I am wondering about another one: "Wet Brain". I do not want to assume this just means a brain when one is drinking. What is it? Can one have it after stopping booze?
Old 04-08-2010, 09:44 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

the way I understood it , it may be a permanently impaired altered neurological status....?

but i'm no expert and i read briefly ( I think on this website early in February)? i will do a search.
Old 04-08-2010, 09:47 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Wet Brain Syndrome is known by several names including Korsakoff psychosis, alcoholic encephalopathy, Wernicke's disease among others. The most common medical term for Wet Brain Syndrome is Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome and is caused by a deficiency in one of the B vitamins called thiamine. Thiamine is also occasionally referred to as vitamin B1. Thiamine is important for a large number of cellular processes, many of them involving glucose metabolism and amino acid synthesis. One of the reasons that thiamine deficiency can cause such havoc in the brain is because the brain, unlike other organs, needs a steady supply of glucose from the blood and does not have the ability to store it. Also, many neurotransmitters, like glutamate and aspartate are amino acids, while others depend on amino acids for their synthesis. In addition to Wet Brain Syndrome, thiamine deficiency can also lead to a disease called Beriberi.
Causes of Wet Brain Syndrome