SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Binge Drinker (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/198187-binge-drinker.html)

WileyOne 04-04-2010 05:18 PM

Binge Drinker

Hi all, this is my first time on this site. I have been binge drinking for about 15 years now and feel its time to stop.

I have told my friends before that i am gonna stop and they say thats what you said last time, but this time im committed. I'm over this life style.

I have stopped before for about 3 weeks and felt great. I noticed my skin look better my wallet was fatter, i dont know why i keep going back. I can go through the week and not have a drink easy but once Friday arvo comes around all i think about is hitting the bottle and hit the bottle I do. I have 15 hour benders. I can't stop. I got kicked out of the racers yesterday. I feel embarressed.

I am usually the first guy my friends ring when they wanna drink i feel i might have to move away to beat this.

Every time I drink i have blackouts spend a **** load of money and feel depressed for a couple of days. I am a strong person. I will prove my friends wrong and I will beat it.

Im looking forward to the challenge.

Dee74 04-04-2010 05:24 PM

Welcome WileyOne :)

You'll find a lot of support here.

I had a pretty hard drinking social circle too - I didn't move away, but I did have to stop seeing them - I found the only thing we really had as a connection was booze.

I did reconnect with a lot of old friends tho - and made a lot of new ones, so I've never regretted the decision to stop drinking - I know you won't either :)

D

CarolD 04-04-2010 05:35 PM

Welcome to our recovery comunity....:wave:

least 04-04-2010 06:15 PM