SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Hi, Newbie Here with a few Q's (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/196534-hi-newbie-here-few-qs.html)

MahiMahi 03-11-2010 12:29 AM

Hi, Newbie Here with a few Q's

Hi Everyone,

Well today is day 54 and after many failed attempts I'm hoping this one works. I have been a heavy drinker for 20 plus years, everything I did involved alcohol. In January I checked into a 5 day detox after a weekend of drinking and pills, "percs, benzos". The pills were for a neck injury, anxiety and have only been a part of the equation for a year or so. I have always like the way alcohol got me going "no fear". I also haved used smokeless tobacco for the stimulating affect since I was 13. I am lucky to have not harmed anyone while drinking and driving as well as no DUI's and my Dr. says I'm healthy according to the blood work.

As I said its day 54 and clean as I think someone can be, I even quit the Copenhagen snuff 3 weeks ago. My question is everyday I feel like I'm on benzos, no energy! I took up running after detox and have changed my diet and take "Vitamin Code" daily to replace what I might have lost in the many years of abuse.

Anyone else have a similar tired feeling 2 months after cleaning up?

Thanks,
MahiMahi

B27 03-11-2010 06:56 PM

Yep.
It's perfectly normal.

Alcohol effects every single cell in your body and it could take as much as a year for all the chemistry in your body and brain to normalize and start functioning at the proper levels again.

Hang in there!
This too shall pass and you've made a great start. :)

Horselover 03-11-2010 08:03 PM