SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   I'm new here - hello (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/195446-im-new-here-hello.html)

GreenTrees 02-23-2010 07:59 PM

I'm new here - hello

Just introducing myself as i've just registered. I've been drinking alot for over 2 years now and it's very hard to stop. I've just admitted it to myself that this is a problem and i want to change. i'm not sure if I'm an alcoholic but I do abuse alcohol (and my husband when I'm drunk). I did an online quiz today to see where I stood on alcoholism and got 13 "yeses" out of 20 possibles!!!

Anyway, I need more information and support so here I am.
I hope to learn more and see what has helped other people deal with abusing substances/addiction.

ANGELINA243 02-23-2010 08:01 PM

Welcome! Glad you are here. This is a great place for support. :)

Dee74 02-23-2010 08:22 PM

Welcome Green Trees - always good to see another Aussie :)
You'll find a lot of help and support here :)

D

humblestudent 02-23-2010 08:24 PM

Hi GreenTrees - welcome. I lurked online here for about a month or so before posting. I think the tipping point for me was when I was reading post after post that I could've written myself. Even in the wondering if I was or wasn't a "text book" alcoholic, if you will. Which, there probably isn't one...but if this phrase applies to you, you might want to look closer at it:

One drink is one too many, and 10,000 never enough.

verytallcat 02-23-2010 08:25 PM

Welcome.

I am only on day six but i am also an aussie female.

I am glad i am not the only one.

CarolD 02-23-2010 08:41 PM

Welcome to SR......:wavey:

Glad you are here

Fubarcdn 02-23-2010 10:50 PM

Welcome to SR Green Trees :welcome