Notices

A Story About Why I *Have* To Keep Coming Back

Old 02-05-2010, 08:06 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
...really I don't

Exclamation A Story About Why I *Have* To Keep Coming Back

Hi Everyone

I've been reading posts on here and not directly participating which has characterized my recovery efforts for the past two months. I wanted to share about where that got me.

Short version: Grateful to have been in meetings all day today.

Longer version: I've been drinking and using for a little over 10 yrs.

Six yrs. ago, I attempted to stop for a few months but wasn't working any kind of program while going to meetings and only calling my sponsor when I was loaded. Switched drugs, kept using and stop going to meetings.

Two months ago, my drinking and using was so bad that I ended up checking myself into a psych ward because I honestly didn't know what else to do. Although I only really felt suicidal when I sobering up/coming down, my actions and way of life really where a "yes" when they asked me if I was a danger to myself or others.

I detoxed there and started an outpatient treatment program. I started out strong but, with time, wasn't taking direction, wasn't following suggestions, wasn't going to meetings, wasn't calling my sponsor, wasn't avoiding the people/places/things and was relapsing over and over again. I even picked up a new addiction while I was in treatment.

Yesterday morning, I shared at my outpatient group about how honestly I wasn't working an honest program or taking any responsibility for my recovery. I'm holding onto reservations and I'm not talking about or asking for help about what's really going on with me. Everything that got me into the center in the first place.