SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   job (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/193024-job.html)

joel 01-22-2010 04:57 PM

job

well, i lost my job today. pretty crappy circumstances to say the least. Been sober for 20 days and really just want to go out and get black out drunk. Part of me saying the only thing i have right now is sobriety, another parts saying go out, get trashed f-the world and my former supervisor.

din 01-22-2010 05:00 PM

I certainly hope you rethink.....and DONT!

20 days is something to be darn proud of!!!

bad part is....You will still be jobless in the morning, only with a hangover...........and back to day one.

edited to say:
I should be much more compassionate..........I'm a newbie myself.......apologies

Anna 01-22-2010 05:03 PM

I'm really sorry that you lost your job. That has to hurt.

But, be SO glad that you are sober and can deal with this situation. You will be able to search for a new job and move on with your life.

CarolD 01-22-2010 05:07 PM

Yes losing your job is painful. Sorry it happened.
:hug:
Losings your sober time is not going to help
you will only feel worse

Do something positive for yourself
please don't put alcohol back in your body.

Ceres 01-22-2010 05:14 PM

This happened to me. Partly because I was so crazy in my early sobriety. Funny thing, it happened to my sponsor too. I wonder how common it really is. So many of us are utterly useless the first 30 or 60 days. I think it was meant to be for me. I had a lot to work on and was able to throw myself into recovery. As far as money went, I was able to convince myself that I will alway's have what I need as long as I do the next right thing, then the next right thing, ect... It was true.

least 01-22-2010 05:27 PM