Notices

What if (insert name here) finds out??!!

Old 01-20-2010, 08:54 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What if (insert name here) finds out??!!

I just wanted to share a blessing that's been happening for me tonight.

I have always dealt (badly) with shame, guilt and fear. One of my biggest fears are those closest to me finding out about my alcoholism. As this is Day 1 for me, I started to feel those fears really surface again.

So I decided to do something about it. I e-mailed all of my family to let them know that I am an alcoholic and basically how I've been spiraling out of control since 2005-6ish. I also let them know what I'm doing now and the steps I have to take for recovery. I finished by giving them specific prayer requests and then hit the "Send" button before I chickened out.

Suffice to say, I am overwhelmed with tears of gratitude at how much love they gave back to me in their replies. In fact, I'm printing them all off and will be taking them with me wherever I go to remember how blessed I really am.

Anyways, just wanted to share.

With Love,

RacerX
Old 01-20-2010, 09:00 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I'm so glad you had such great support Racer X

D
Old 01-20-2010, 09:12 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank you for the inspiration! I still haven't opened up to some of my family and friends. I've been waiting for that aha! moment. Perhaps this is it..........

I admire your courage and wish you the best in your recovery!!!
Old 01-20-2010, 10:37 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I love posts like this

that's awesome!

(pretend last smiley dude has a 10 too )
Old 01-20-2010, 10:50 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Thats absolutely fantastic and well done for doing this!!! It's a great idea to print them out and just remind yourself of how much support and understandig there is out there from non-alcoholics:-)

Keep moving forward with your recovery, many more pleasant suprises ahead i promise!
Old 01-20-2010, 11:12 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
20/12/09