Notices

I'm new...just wanted to say hi

Old 01-07-2010, 01:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Thumbs up I'm new...just wanted to say hi

long time lurker, new time member.

Just a little about me:

Although I am nearly 30 years old I have been drinking since the age of 14, mostly heavly since 20 years old. As my drinking spiraled out of control I encountered many health problems, relationship problems, money problems and even lost my longterm job through it. In the year 2009 alone I was drinking approx 300 units per week. It was killing me and I knew it. You only had to look at me to tell that.

After a long think in Dec 2009 I relised that the last 10 year in my life I only existed; I done very little living. I need to kick my habbit so decied that as I turn 30 this year I want to start living again. My last day drinking was the 2nd Jan 2010. The shakes have pretty much gone.....just the cravings and boredom without drink I need to deal with. God knows how I am going to deal with the weekends and social things.

I look forward to hopfully get my memory back to normal, regaining interest in things, my red face and bloodshot eyes go away and I can start enjoying life again.

I wish you all a very good 2010 and hope we can all move on.
Old 01-07-2010, 01:09 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Aaron7 View Post
I look forward to hopfully get my memory back to normal, regaining interest in things, my red face and bloodshot eyes go away and I can start enjoying life again.

Welcome to SR and you can bank on all those things if you stay sober. If boredom and lack of socializing are a factor in your recovery why not try a face to face group? Then you will have socializing and you won't be bored. Just a thought.
Old 01-07-2010, 01:10 PM
  # 3 (permalink)