Notices

Stop the ride...

Old 01-01-2010, 07:20 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Stop the ride...

Newbie here,

Been lurking here for a while and thought It would be best to register.

I'm a guy in my early 30's. I've grown up in a culture of heavy drinking. I was always the guy that was first to arrive and last to leave any event where I could get smashed. In the more recent years I've been drinking at home, often employing the sneaky tactics of hiding the empties, pretending I'm working in the shed, opening a new beer out of view etc, so as not to get the unwanted attention from my partner.

I'm not keen on wearing a label as there are people here that have gone a lot further down the road than I have but I know I have an issue with alcohol. I have a huge tolerance that increased over the years to where I am now; cracking open my 3rd six-pack in one session. Silly thing is, I always only buy 1 six-pack because that's all i intend to drink, then I risk getting a DUI when I jump in the car to go and get more - Every time!

I know this has got to stop. Drinking is making permanently miserable, I don't even get a good buzz anymore, I just drink until I pass out on the safety of my couch. I can't tell you the amount of times I've gone to the movie store only to be told "you've had this movie out 3 times already".

I want to stop drinking but for some stupid reason I have this irrational idea that the further I sink the easier it will be to convince myself I have a REAL problem. There is so much talk of what classifies an alcoholic, maybe that's why I haven't been able to stay quit when I have tried in the past.

I have so much regret and shame from my years of drinking: The black outs, fights etc. It's given me nothing but suffering. I hope I can do it this time...
Old 01-01-2010, 07:27 PM
  # 2 (permalink)