Notices

Please help.

Old 11-17-2009, 04:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Please help.

I've been drinking daily for about 2 years now, I started drink at age 13 I am now 27. I drink about 750 ML of liquor a day.... I was pulled over may 10th for DUI and blew a .243 around 10 am. My attorney wants me to go to AA which is fine but I don't feel ready to quit drinking but I have to and I am unsure how to go about this. I know I have a problem and by the judge I will have to quit drinking and I want too but I don't (weird huh), I just don't feel ready. Sorry about the lack of paragraphs,double standards and such I really just need some help.
Old 11-17-2009, 04:52 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Om, Aum, Ohm...

What do you think it would take to make you ready? There's all kinds of help to get you sober and keep you sober, though the willingness to be sober must come from you -- or from jails, institutions or death.

Peace & Love,
Sugah
Old 11-17-2009, 05:06 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Rockstar

Welcome to SR - I don't know if anyone can get sober without actually wanting to be sober.
Old 11-17-2009, 05:13 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Kateriee View Post

I will have to quit drinking and I want too but I don't (weird huh)
Not weird, pretty much the standard for alcoholics. Do you think you are an alcoholic? If so, what does that mean to you? What does it feel like to you, alcoholism?

If you are drinking that much hard liquor, you may need a detox. See a doctor if you can... withdrawing from alcohol can be dangerous. May be with just a little sobriety you can see how alcohol will, and maybe has started to, wreck your life. Then willingness can come.

Welcome to SR!!

Mark
Old 11-17-2009, 06:42 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Living in sobriety

Not weird for an alcoholic. If your an alcoholic you may not want to lose your best friend. Your best friend is killing you but its all you know!!
However there is help for you.
I had a desire to stop drinking but I was scared too.