Notices

Women and Wine...

Old 10-30-2009, 09:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Women and Wine...

I am new to recovery - day 2. I have had enough! It is hard to admit I am a wino and can't drink like a normal person anymore. I have gone as long as 15 days recently...generally I get my 1 bottle down every 3-4 days...except now I am up to 2 bottles in one night...every 3 days. It's a sick cycle...If I had $10,500 I would be checked into a 42 day recovery program.

It was easy for me to drink - I work at home all day by myself, so I can drink without anyone bugging me.

I am a mother, a wife, a business owner and a fantastic high functioning alcoholic. I love that I think I can hide my wine in the garage, then throw out the empty bottle. No one will know...except me.

I don't know why I drink quite frankly. My mother was an alcholic before she died at 59. I really started to drink after she died, after my 1st marriage broke up, after I had a mental breakdown 8 years ago. Yikes, I have been a out of control drinker for 8 years. I didn't drink much in my twenties as I was to busy being pregnant, exercising and having fun with my kids. Hello 30's! what the hell happened?

I just want it to stop!:praying
Old 10-30-2009, 10:08 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR Partydiva! You will have lots of encouragement and information through SR. It can and will stop and it sounds like you've made up your mind which is a good start. Do you have any other plan for recovery or are you coasting with SR right now? I use SR and there are a few that exclusively use SR, but if you need the face to face support go online and maybe look up AA. Either way welcome to SR.

Wine was my choice of poison for many, many years by the way. Haven't had a drop in over a year and I credit that to the 24 hour rule and SR mostly.
Old 10-30-2009, 10:17 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Heathen

Welcome