SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   HI I am new to recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/185918-hi-i-am-new-recovery.html)

goofers 10-06-2009 06:06 PM

HI I am new to recovery

I'm nicknamed goofers. I have read so many of the experiences of so many addicted to oxycodone and other drugs and the withdrawal they suffer through. Being a grandpa and retired salesman I thought it would never happen to me. I am a war vet with bad back and started going to Va hospital for help and at a point 2 years ago they started me on low dose of oxycodone with the promise of no addiction. Yeah sure.....the amounts increased to 10mg 3 times daily and while that is a small amount compared to some of the stories I read it still addicted me. I am now on day 5 of the withdrawal cold turkey, and the va is now helping me get off it by helping with the anxiety which is the worse part of it. The chills the being warm the diaherhea is about past. It is a devil drug for sure. I got through the first 5 days because of the help some of you posted and the courage you showed.
I'm proud to be a part and let you know grandpa's in their near 70's have problems too. I want so bad to be sober and I will get there despite the back pain. God is their for me and now I need to be there for him. At least I will be sober and aware of his love. Thank you all, and thank you God for the love and help.

Surlyredhead 10-06-2009 06:31 PM

Hi and welcome Goofers!! I am glad you are here, we are never to young or to old to get into recovery. We are almost neighbors, I am in Warren! I look forward to reading your posts..:hug:

Cathy

mariechi 10-06-2009 06:33 PM

You show 'em how it's done, Grandpa! :You_Rock_