Notices

Quick Question

Old 09-08-2009, 02:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Quick Question

Hi everyone,

I have been coming to these boards for a few years now with every good intention to get sober. I have made it the longest ever since my drinking career began, 70 plus days, big thanks to everyone on this board.

My question to you is when did you finally start to feel somewhat "normal"? I mean in terms of overall well being....I know we all have different issues and ailments that we are facing but in general. I feel pretty good right now and am pleasantly surprised...I just wonder how long it will take before all that damage I did to myself really starts kicking in...thanks for reading =)

~Jade
AKA Rebecca
Old 09-08-2009, 02:47 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
OMG everything's real

I'm amazed by how resilient the human body is, considering what we put it through. The only way to tell for sure is to go to your doctor, tell him your concerns, and let them do the relevant tests.

I was worried sick about my liver, it hurt etc. It doesn't anymore and my tests came back normal (only 30 days after I stopped drinking).
Old 09-08-2009, 02:48 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

I'm glad you're doing well.

I think it took at least a few months for me before I started to feel good about myself and my life. It took me three years to hit my bottom, so I knew I couldn't fix things immediately.
Old 09-08-2009, 03:26 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Thanks guys!!!

I went to my doctor after 60 days and my liver tests came back great, which shocked both myself and my doctor!! LOL My cholesterol was high but I can manage that...I feel pretty good honestly, anxiety is low and at bay and my cravings are few and far between but when they hit they hit hard...I guess I am just amazed, like you said, at how our bodies can heal.