Notices

Droped by sponsor for using a computer

Old 10-11-2009, 03:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Droped by sponsor for using a computer

I was asked to complete a detailed questionnaire (emailed to me in Word format) in order to complete my first step. This involved an exercise to help me understand I was powerless over drinking. I was asked (told) to write the answers in pen. I decided to use a computer because I am a very bad writer. This allowed me to write detailed answers and give it lots of thought as opposed to short answers to avoid writing. When I showed it to my sponsor he refused to read it and we agreed to part ways. I understand the thing about breaking free will but I think this is taking it too far. I am curious what the group thinks about this.

Thanks
Mike
Old 10-11-2009, 03:41 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Seems harsh to me, but I have few, if any, answers. Did you discuss WHY you used the computer? Strange that you were given a computerized form, but then told to write longhand.
Old 10-11-2009, 03:48 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Sounds like you don't follow directions very well. If you were my guy, I would tell you to go back and write it as well. Matter of fact this has happened. I made it crystal clear to a protege that hand writing the 4th step was the way we were going to do it. I set up the format, gave him directions etc....Long story short, he came back a week later and it was done in an excel spreadsheet.

I told him to do it in hand, he argued as to how his way was better, bla bla bla, he walked away. 3 years later I'm still sober, he's still drunk. Maybe just maybe some of us sponsors are on to something. If you want to recover using the steps as they are outlined in the Big Book, you must be willing to follow specific exact directions. This is the program of AA. If you are not willing to do this, hopefully you will find something that does work for you. PM if I can be of assistance.
Old 10-11-2009, 03:52 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hey G4A --