Notices

Member of the club no one wants to join

Old 07-07-2009, 10:46 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
CLZ

Member of the club no one wants to join

Hi...I'm going to be honest and say that I'm not sure what to say...but I think the bigger problem is that I don't know what to do.

I'm an alcoholic. There. That's the first time I've written or said or even thought that.

I can say where it started, I can say why it continued but I can't justify it in regards to my life, my obligations or my relationships.

The ironic part? Usually the only time I'm aware as to how deep my dependency runs is when I'm drinking. When I'm sober, the only things that go through my head are "Oh, it's not so bad." or "It's not like I got so drunk I threw up." or "Just one more night where I drink myself to sleep." Naturally one more night turns into every night and I've hardly been sober after 6 pm in over 10 months.

I'm a 23 year old student, finishing up her psychology degree (yes, please pause for an amused laugh-seriously, it's ok, I did) in December. I've been going to school since I was 18 but had to go part time a lot so I could work to pay my tuition. Lost my job in May due to the fact that I worked at a state school and budget cuts meant job cuts. For the record, I've found the best comeback to people complaining about waking up at 6am to go to work is "I wake up 5am to have a drink so I don't have to think about not waking up at 6am for work." Sorry, gallows humor. It's the one thing I've managed to retain from my early youth.

Anyway, my life situation goes beyond what I just mentioned but I'm not sure how much of a 'share and care' place this is so I won't go into it. I don't mean that to sound rude or mellow dramatic, I mean it more in the sense that I don't want to whine or subject you all to my venting...if that makes any sense...sorry, I don't do web forums often...as in ever. As it were I'm a bit of a techniphobe and now I'm rambling so I'll stop.