Notices

An assignment from treatment-Dear John Letter

Old 07-02-2009, 07:39 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

An assignment from treatment-Dear John Letter

Hi, this is my first time starting a thread so..keep reading
I have graduated from treatment in May of 2009 and we needed to complete a few assignments in order to graduate. The first assignment was a Dear John letter, basically saying goodbye to alcohol ( my drug of choice ). I am not (in my eyes) a writer, but have been told I have a hidden gift. So, I hope you discover your ability to say goodbye to alcohol or any kind of substance that alters the state of consciousness.

Alcohol,
Wow, it never ceases to amaze me your irresponsibility toward your actions. Therefore, I'm taking the bull by the horns I'm taking responsibility of my actions. This choice was delegated by your total disregard for my feelings. I was naive to believe that you actually cared for me and my life. You have been revealed. The audacity of you showing up at that party with demoralizing deceit and ill tempered instigation was the straw that broke the camel's back. With their notorious ability to destroy whatever crosses their path, my affections for you have changed forever.

Before we were acquainted, my older sister Angie described the insatiable influence you had over her. At the age of 10 or 11 she introduced me to you. Your attempt to lure me into your tainted love was futile. However, I did witness the dysfunctional relationship you had with my parents. It wasn't pretty with the shouting and lack of self control. It didn't register in my little brain what this learned behavior would cost me in the long run. You popped in and out of my life within a decade from the first time we were acquainted.