SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   How Did You Come Up With Your Screen Name (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/178401-how-did-you-come-up-your-screen-name.html)

PurpleCat 09-09-2009 06:57 AM

Purple is my favorite color, and I love cats. Could have easily been PurpleDog, too :P Google PurpleCat and you come up with a whole lot of things that are not me, which is all good.

The avatar reminds me of the purple cat in the children's book "Brown Bear, Brown Bear". My son loved that book when he was a toddler.

recycle 09-09-2009 09:22 AM

A few years ago I started riding my bicycle to work a few days a week, and then I started riding it around town for errands. Sure it takes a five extra minutes to travel the five miles across town to work, but it feels more like a journey than a commute. The experience began to open my eyes to all the useless stuff in my life and how I was letting it define me. So I began to get rid of stuff. Chemical addictions are just the next thing to go. So I guess I am trying to recycle my mind, body, and spirit in an effort to regain some of the things I have squandered. I did not capitalize it because it is a process and not a destination. At least for right now, I feel more comfortable being a verb instead of a noun. I don’t remember where I got the image of Lao Tzu on a bike, but it seemed to fit the theme.

IO Storm 09-09-2009 10:38 AM

These are all so neat!

Thanks, Bee, for the thread.

Mine is simple. It is my signature line..

God holds me still in the eye of the storm.

I had been in such a hurricane of chaos, caused by my own selfish actions due to

my addictions..and when my HP met me at the crossroads of a decision..I surrendered.

There...I went into the "eye of the storm"..