Notices

Not yet Sober, but I need to be

Old 06-01-2009, 02:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Red face Not yet Sober, but I need to be

Hi Everyone. This is my first time here. I have not set a date yet to become sober, but I have realized that I need too and soon.

I have been drinking just about every night for more than 2 years. I have blackouts more than once a week and wake up every morning around 4 (I suppose that's when the alcohol wears off) either trying to remember the night before or laying there feeling guilty and trying to return to sleep.

I have depression and anxiety, no meds help; but that is prolly due to my drinking. I don't drink during the day, but I do drink heavily (liquor) at night.

I don't go to bars, I drink at home only. I have hidden this from most of the ppl in my life other than my DH. He has shown his concern for my habit for awhile, but is not the type of person to push. He drinks as well, but not to the extent that I do.

I guess my first question is how to start the recovery process? Can I do this on my own without drs. or meetings? I can come up with excuses for not setting a sober date by the time the afternoon rolls around, so how do I set a date and stick with it?

Thanks for any help/advice you can give!
Old 06-01-2009, 02:12 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sober since 9th May 2008

Tomorrow's a good day Navarri, or even today if you've not started drinking yet.

All the planning in the world doesn't make it any easier I don't think, the withdrawels normally only last a few days though and the sooner you get them done the sooner you get on with the rest of your life.

You can try meetings or do it on your own, there is no right or wrongs its whats right for you.

I did it on my own but others prefer the face to face support meetings give you.

Stay safe though, if you feel unwell please consult your doctor.