Notices

Ron- Addict.

Old 05-21-2009, 01:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Ron- Addict.

Hah? Oh, hi there.
Where do I begin?
How I was- I grew up in a nice home in Littleton, Colorado and had no huge problems as a child. Rather perfect actually. When I turned 13, I decided to drink with a couple of friends, but got drunk enough to black out.
Never again will I drink. Not too much longer I began I drank again. I started smoking pot almost daily for the next 12 years. At 16, I had already used many drugs- ecstasy, LSD, mushrooms, etc. About 18, I learned to cook crack and began researching opiate pills. 22, I found heroin. A year later I shot it up for the first time and found the ultimate relief for responsibility. I then began mixing cocaine and heroin and realized I had no morals or will power.
How I got here- I got onto methadone. That never stopped me from using heroin until I was on a high enough dose to not get high from it anymore. So I started shooting up coke and drank. When I come down off coke, I feel like I'm in hell since I crave it so much. Drinking helps take that intense craving away. I found I had hep-c and continued to get high. I wanted to stop using all mind-altering substances, so I quit methadone. Withdraws were so bad I found out that pot helped ease the pain. That wasn't good enough so I resorted to scoring heroin.
How I am now- I agreed with my girlfriend that I needed help stopping. I enrolled into a treatment center in Denver, Sobriety House. I learned about all the A meetings and heard, go to meetings, get a sponsor, do the steps. So that's what I've been doing. I now have 71 days clean, the longest I've been since 13. I'm on step 1 and try to attend about 10 meetings a week. Unlike others, my parents and girlfriend are very supportive and go to Al-Anon meetings with me. I am so lucky.
Anyways, thanks for reading a little about me, hope to share more and learn from other's.
Thanks.
Old 05-21-2009, 01:57 PM
  # 2 (permalink)